The regions of Italy are the first-level administrative divisions of the state, constituting its second NUTS administrative level. There are twenty regions, of which five are constitutionally given a broader amount of autonomy granted by special statutes. Each region (except for the Aosta Valley) is divided into provinces. Regions are autonomous entities with powers defined in the Constitution.